Dr. Ziegert Recognized as 2017 SME International Honor Award Winner

Friday, April 14, 2017
SME has recognized Dr. John Ziegert of the Mechanical Engineering and Engineering Science Department with the 2017 SME Frederick W. Taylor Research Medal for his significant contributions to manufacturing science. Dr. Ziegert earned a bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering at Purdue University, a master's degree from Northwestern University and a doctorate from the University of Rhode Island. He joined the University of Florida faculty in 1990 and was appointed to the Newton C. Ebaugh chair in mechanical engineering in 2004. In 2006, Ziegert joined the mechanical engineering faculty at Clemson University where he held the Timken chair in design. In 2011, Ziegert joined the mechanical engineering faculty at the UNC Charlotte. He is a fellow of SME and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers; past president of the American Society for Precision Engineering; and served as editor-in-chief for "Precision Engineering – Journal of the International Societies for Precision Engineering and Nanotechnology" from 2006 to 2015. In 2009, Ziegert received the Arnold O. Beckman Founders Award from the Instrument Society of America. SME Member Since 1994