The Power of Opportunity

Craig and Darla Albert, who established the Albert Scholars program in the Lee College of engineering in 2014, paid a visit to EPIC in November 2016, meeting with Dean Bob Johnson and the current Albert scholars.

Craig Albert is a 1985 graduate of Mechanical Engineering at UNC Charlotte. He is currently the president of Bechtel Systems and Infrastructure, the company’s government services arms and a director on the Bechtel Group Board. His wife Darla is a 1983 alumna of UNC Charlotte’s Belk College of Business.

The Albert Scholars program is patterned after the university’s prestigious Levine Scholars Program. As a merit-based scholarship program, Albert Scholars is designed to develop future engineering leaders by emphasizing applied learning, campus involvement and professional development.

UTC Foundation Grant to EPIC

The UTC Foundation, the charitable arm of the Utilities Technology Council (UTC), presented its first grant to the Energy Production & Infrastructure Center (EPIC) at UNC Charlotte. The contribution was given at an awards dinner on Wednesday, May 10th during the UTC Telecom & Technology conference in Charlotte. The UTC Foundation chose EPIC for its inaugural donation due to the outstanding Smart Grid technology and telecommunications work of the school, which aligns perfectly with the charity's vision of supporting and promoting educational institutions and programs that connect students with utilities and critical infrastructure-related interests. You can read the full story here.

TiMotion USA Creates Scholarship at UNC Charlotte's Lee College of Engineering

TiMOTION’s North American subsidiary recently announced its partnership with UNC Charlotte to fund future engineers in their academic studies. The scholarship funding will benefit full-time students of high academic standing who are enrolled in engineering programs.You can read full story here.

Bharatkumar S. Joshi Memorial Scholarship Announces First Recipient

Arnab Baruah was recently announced as the first recipient of the Bharatkumar S. Joshi Memorial Scholarship, named in memory of Associate Professor Dr. Bharatkumar S. Joshi of the William States Lee College of Engineering. You can read the full story here.